Police Officer of the Year Awards

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners of the 2018 Rotary Police Officer of the Year Awards.

Rotary Police Officer of the Year

Commissioner Mick Fuller APM announced Senior Constable Katherine Emerson as the Rotary Police Officer of the Year and also Specialist Support Officer of the Year for her service and commitment to the profession.
Having joined the NSW Police Force in 1989, Senior Constable Emerson has 29 years’ experience as a police officer. She spent nine years in general duties in Sydney, before moving to Newcastle, where she joined the Traffic & Highway Patrol Command in 2009.
Senior Constable Emerson was recently commended by senior police for her competence and skill in managing a double fatal motor vehicle crash.
Judges deemed her unwavering commitment to her community and the Traffic & Highway Patrol Command, made her worthy of the overall award.
Below are the winners in the other categories.

Metropolitan Field Operations Police Officer of the Year and Blue Mountains Police Officer of the Year: Senior Constable Steven Day.

Snr Cst Day is a 27-year veteran. He has been a member of the Blue Mountains Police Rescue Squad since 1996 and has specialist skills in bomb appraisal, small boat operations, is a field driving instructor and a remote aerial vehicle pilot

Regional Field Operations Police Officer of the Year: Inspector David Maher

As the officer in charge of Coonabarabran Police Station, Insp Maher ensures an excellent response to crime and community calls for service, is heavily involved in emergency management.
Investigations and Counter Terrorism Police Officer of the Year: Detective Sergeant John Edwards
Due to the commitment, leadership and genuine hard work of Det Sgt Edwards, Strike Force Kindra was able to successfully target the supply of ice in the Riverina and ACT region by members of the Rebels outlaw motorcycle gang (OMCG).

Corporate Services Police Officer of the Year: Senior Constable Sascha Benn

Armed with a passion for safer workplaces, Snr Cst Benn became a principal tutor and subject matter expert for drug exhibit management after joining a project team to improve training and officer safety. Snr Cst Benn helped identify the risks posed by cannabis plants which emit harmful carcinogenic fumes as they rot, leading to better storage.

Rotary Community Award: Leading Senior Constable Bianca Williams

Primarily working in general duties, L/Snr Cst Williams is genuinely interested in making her work and her local community a better place. She has also amassed more than 100 blood donations and motivates others to donate.

Customer Service Excellence Award: Sergeant Aaron Greenwood

Previously having worked with the Unsolved Homicide Team, Det Sgt Greenwood is an outstanding officer who has helped reshape community relationships in a difficult policing environment.

Irene Juergens (IJ) Fellowship Award Sworn Category: Sergeant Kelsey Priestly

As the domestic violence team leader in the North Shore Police Area Command, Sgt Priestly empowers her team to improve the outcomes of domestic violence related incidents. Since February 2018, all domestic violence incidents are subject to a review by her entire team, resulting in greater consistency and follow-up.

Police Employee of the Year: Lisa Gardener, NSW Police Academy.

Ms Gardner has served over 20 years as the Executive Assistant to the Principal of the NSW Police Academy.

Irene Juergens (IJ) Fellowship Award Unsworn Category: Kim Fenwick, St George Police Area Command.
Volunteer of the Year Award: Glen Fanning, Riverina Police District.

Connect with us

PANSW on Facebook